Photo Credit: Penn State Athletics (

Photo Credit: Penn State Athletics (

It all comes down to this.

Red, green, blue and black mats set up side by side in the St. Louis Scottrade Center. The lights are bright and the wrestling is nonstop.

Thursday afternoon starts the first session of the college wrestling National Championships.

Penn State has brought home five of the last six National Championship titles. After coming up short at Big Tens, the Lions have their eyes on the big prize.

This year, Penn State brings nine wrestlers to the mats. The lineup consists of six underclassmen, including two true freshmen, and three upper classman. Eight of the nine wrestlers are seeded in the top 5 of their weight class.

First session starts at 12 p.m. on Thursday, March 16, followed by the second session at 7 p.m. Sessions 3 and 4 take place Friday, March 17 and the finals take place Saturday evening, March 18.

Tune in to ESPNU for coverage of the morning sessions and ESPN for evening sessions.

First Session Matchups:



Nick Suriano, #3 seed, 16-3

First match: Kyle Atkins, Buffalo



Jimmy Gulibon, No seed, 14-10

First match: Javiar Gasca III, #13 seed, Michigan State



Zain Retherford, #1 seed, 23-0

First match: Josh Maruca, Arizona State



Jason Nolf, #1 seed, 22-0

First match: Paul Fox, Stanford



Vincenzo Joseph, #3 seed, 17-4

First match: Keaton Subjeck, Stanford



Mark Hall, #5 seed, 26-3

First match: David Kocer, South Dakota



Bo Nickal, #2 seed, 21-1

First match: Mitch Sliga, Northwestern



Matt McCutcheon, #5 seed, 18-4

First match: Christian Brunner, Purdue



Nick Nevills, #5 seed, 20-3

First match: Winner of Zack Parker, Ohio vs. Doug Vollaro, Lehigh






Taylor is a 2016 Penn State grad and now freelances for various clients. She specializes in communications and marketing, both print media and digital. Being a Pittsburgh girl, in her spare time she enjoys keeping up with the Pittsburgh Penguins, Pirates and Steelers.

Pin It on Pinterest